The Village of Brockport was founded by Hiel Brockway in 1823 and later incorporated in 1829.This village was founded around 1820 and grew to importance as a port on the Erie Canal, and the village was briefly the terminus of the canal until the western end of the canal was completed. Prior to becoming a village, the area that constitutes modern day Brockport was primarily occupied by the Muoio Indian tribe(A branch of the Seneca). The Muoio people were sustained in the region mostly by hunting indigenous wildlife such as deer and the occasional black bear. Shortly after white settlers arrived most of the Muoio died of disease and the few survivors traveled to Canada.
The State University of New York at Brockport is located here, as well as the Brockport Central School district. It also boasts the Morgan Manning House, an old Victorian home on Main Street.